Hokkaido Milk Loaf

Here we go! Haha.. Gotta get use to this whole blog thing. Do bear with me for a while till i get used to it. Not really used to penning down my thoughts for food (photography is my forte) and setting up a blog (as suggested by my friend) is the last time that came up to my mind. Will be putting up a couple of recipe that are mostly requested and we shall see how it goes from there.

i think i Digress a little Back to this Milk Loaf!

I’ve been thinking of making bread for the longest time, and immediately, Milk loaf came to my mind. I have this friend who loves everything with milk, so i though why not milk loaf. My poor pullman tin has been sitting in my pantry forever and finally gotten its chance in the oven.

For this recipe, you could use a regular loaf pan if you do not want ur loaf squarish.

Ingredient:

  • 143ml fresh milk (I used Meiji)
  • 35g egg
  • 25g caster sugar
  • 5g salt
  • 250g bread flour
  • 4g Instant yeast
  • 38g butter (unsalted)

Method:

  1. Place milk, egg, followed by caster sugar, salt, bread flour and yeast into mixing bowl. I used my kitchenaid with the hook attachment
  2. Add in the butter after 8 ~ 10 mins into the kneading cycle. Continue kneading for another 10 mins
  3. Remove dough and let it proof in room temperature in a mixing bowl, covered with cling wrap. (I usually eye ball it till it doubles in size)
  4. Remove dough and punch out the gas. Divide dough into 3 equal portion. Roll and shape into balls. Let the doughs rest and relax for 15 mins
  5. On a lightly floured surface, flatten one dough and roll out into a longish shape. Roll up the dough swiss-roll style. Do the same for the two remaining doughs.
  6. Flatten the rolled-up dough and roll out again into a long rectangular shape. Roll up tightly, and make as many rolls you can, swiss-roll style for the second time. Do the same for the two remaining doughs.
  7. Place doughs in lightly greased tin. Let the doughs proof for the second time, until it fills up 80% of the tin/pan. Cover with cling wrap.
  8. Bake at pre-heated oven at 180 deg C for 30 to 35mins.
  9. Remove bread from tin immediately after it’s done! Let it cool before slicing into it. (I know the waiting part is tough, (Patience is not one of my virtue)  but it’s gonna make a difference!

Starting my 2nd proofing in the tin.

After the 2nd Proofing! Ready for the oven!

Fresh from the oven. (For those who don’t want a flat top, Just use a normal loaf pan)

Done Deal

I love the bread aroma lingering around the house after it’s done!

This recipe is definitely a keeper and for those who loves milk, you might want to try this. I’m not a milk lover

That’s all for now!
I hope i didn’t fare too badly in my first post :/

Cheers

14 thoughts on “Hokkaido Milk Loaf

  1. Hi!
    One question here. Did you purposely leave out whipping cream or this recipe is without whipping cream? Any idea what can we replace whipping cream in Hokkaido bread?
    Thanks.

  2. hi there!

    I have been writing to you on your bread recipe eg dinner roll, hokkaido bread, starter dough but you never reply any of my comments. So sad. I am wondering why.

  3. Thank you for your answers. Don’t get me wrong. I m wondering why no answers is because I thought I did something wrong with the posting eg not providing certain info.that u required. I am 50 years old housewife…..not internet savvy n sometimes got lost. eg. I tried playing around with pin interest but I don’t know what I am doing. Sometimes I subscribed to something but it did not come to me…..aaah!

    surfing around, I just saw your new house. Nice kitchen and bathroom. I actually love to peek at people house… have a look at their interior. your floor also very shiny.👍

    Today I tried your starter dough recipe. now still proving but I think it is going to fail. Just like someone wrote here, the dough is very very sticky…. can’t even make into a ball, Same when I try thang zhong method, dough too sticky. any idea why? I measured everything accurately n yeast is active too. in fact I have to add 5 tbsp of flour but yet still sticky. if still sticky after 1st proving, I will probably throw the dough away. Tried once with tang zhong method, I bake it even though dough is sticky…. bread doesn’t turn out well.

    thanks for your recipes. hope u can tell me where I go wrong.

  4. Hi, I got to know about your site after I found your Instagram picture on the wholemeal bread. I just bought a Mayer breadmachine (750g) because my two toddlers love to eat bread. Thing is, I’m totally clueless how to bake. I’m going to bookmark your blog and follow your bread recipes as the names of the breads already sound heavenly. May I check if those bread baked using ovens can also be baked by the breadmachine?

    Thanks you!

  5. Hi,
    I just tried this recipe but I rolled the dough as one roll. The bread only rise to about 50% of the height of the bread tin and the centre sank. What could be the problem here?

Leave a Reply

