Pandan Chiffon Cake

image

Here you go! Pandan Chiffon Cake.
One of the easier cake to bake, it’s almost fool proof in my opinion. The key to getting the right chiffon is definitely to make sure that your meringue is well whipped. People are afraid of drying out their meringue, thus under beating it. It also applies to the process of folding in the egg yolk batter and meringue. Do not be afraid to fold it in, Give it a couple of folds, than gradually eye ball it till you feel it’s well mixed, than stop! Do not go any further. Also, if spatula scared you, you can always use a whisk to do the folding in 🙂
This is an awesome recipe, the cake is very light and cottony soft, just how a perfect chiffon cake should be.

Recipe

Yields 1 17cm & 1 12cm. Otherwise, may bake in a 21cm tin

ingredients

Egg Yolk Batter:

  • 5 Egg Yolks
  • 20g Castor Sugar
  • 40ml Corn oil
  • 80ml Coconut milk
  • 1/2 tsp Pandan Paste
  • 80g Cake Flour

 Egg Whites:

  • 5 Egg Whites
  • 90g Castor Sugar
  • 10g Corn Flour

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 160C
  2. Egg Yolk Batter: Whisk egg yolks with sugar. Add in coconut milk, corn oil and pandan paste. Continue whisking till you see a slight emulsion going on.
  3. Sieve in cake cake & set aside
  4. Egg Whites: Whisk egg whites till foamy and gradually add in sugar
  5. Add in corn flour and whisk till almost stiff peak forms
  6. Fold in egg white mixture in 3 additions to the egg yolk mixture. (Be careful not to overmix. You do not want to beat the air out of the egg whites)
  7. Pour batter into tin and give it a few slam on the table
  8. Bake in preheated oven for 40 mins (Diff oven may vary in time. Increase or decrease at your own discretion)
  9. Immediately oven turn and cool cake when it’s done

imageThis is a 17cm & 12cm. You may do the entire recipe in a 21cm tin.

It’s fine if you have a little wrinkle/cracks  on the top. Afterall, It’s gonna be the base of the cake :)
Overturn immediately to cool. Chiffon cake tends to be heavier on the top, so you want to prevent it from sinking
imageslice & it’s ready to be served! Check out that fluffy texture!

Happy Baking!

Do drop me a comment or email if you have any inquiry. 😀

23 thoughts on “Pandan Chiffon Cake

  1. Pingback: My Battle with Chiffon Cake | OISHINBO

    • Hello, the corn flour goes into the egg white meringue.. It kinda acts like a stabilizer, same effect as using cream of tar tar. Doesn’t change nor affect the chiffon texture at all 🙂 hope that helps

  2. Hi,

    I tried your recipe and it flop :(…
    There is a big hollow in the cake when I loosen the side. Don’t know how to expain and I can’t attach pix here. The centre collapse with the side leaving the centre of cake, so u see the side skin and centre went down….What’s went wrong?

  3. Hi,

    What’s a pandan paste please?

    I live in Australia, don’t think I could find pandan paste but I’ve pandan leaves. What are my alternatives please?

    Thanks.

  4. Hi, can I use Equal sweetener instead of castor sugar? Because I am a diabetic patient.
    And can I replace the corn oil with olive oil? Thank you for your time:)

    • Hi Kelly, thanks for trying. You would need 1.5 tbsp of pandan juice + 3/4 tbsp of pandan essence. Honestly, using pandan juice gave me a very faint smell, that’s why i changed to using paste.

  5. Hi, I have tried your recipe. It’s a success! The cake rises beautifully, fluffy, moist, not too sweet and it bounces back when pressed. It’s really a great recipe. However, if I want to use pandan juice, do I really have to use it with pandan essence? As I only have pandan paste? And how many should I use?

  6. Hi, I have tried out your recipe. It’s a success! The cake rises beautifully, fluffy, moist, not too sweet and it bounces back when pressed. It’s really a great recipe. However, if I want to use pandan juice, do I really have to use it with pandan essence? As I only have pandan paste? And how much should I use?

Leave a Reply

