Best Melt in the Mouth Pineapple Tarts

GS9A3554These are the best melt in the mouth pineapple tarts!

WARNING: THIS POST IS NOT FOR THE FAINT HEARTED AND THOSE WHO ARE ON A DIET! MASSIVE BUTTER AND SUGAR COMING YOUR WAY!

ok.. Just kidding. Eye feasting is a form of feasting as well i believe! Now back to the pineapple tarts…

it has taken me forever to get a pineapple tart post up and i finally gotten rid of my lazy bug and gotten down to it! Not so much the blogging part, just that it takes me awhile to edit the photos and having to juggle between work really makes it tiring. i’m trying my best to get as many lunar new year recipes up on the blog this year.. i hope 😀

Pineapple tarts is something i have been baking for ages and the fact that the family loves it makes it all worthwhile. Honestly, it’s not easy to find a good pineapple tart from my previous experiences. Every year when i do the annual chinese new year house visiting, as much as i do not really like eating all these new year goodies, i make it a point to try pineapple tarts and kueh bangkit! These 2 snacks are what i consider a benchmark for a good snack. it’s isn’t easy to get good ones, thus even the tedious work every year, i still insist on making some home baked ones. Most that i tried either have a really hard crust or a ridiculously sweet pineapple jam which is 😡

i would definitely define a good pineapple tart which has a nice buttery, melt in the mouth pastry as well as a pineapple jam that is slightly tart, just to balance the flavors a little more. And of course, i much prefer the wrapped up version which keeps the pineapple really moist!

Recipe

Recipe adapted from Sonia
Makes 100-150 tarts depending on the size you prefer

Pastry Dough

ingredients:

  • 525g Salted Butter
  • 142g Condensed Milk
  • 765g Plain Flour
  • 3 egg yolks
  • 1.5kg Premium Pineapple Paste (Rolled into 10g balls)

Directions:

  1. Cream butter and condensed milk till light
  2. Add in egg yolk one at a time, and beat until combine
  3. Mix in flour, knead till it becomes pliable
  4. Wrap in cling wrap and chill the dough while weighing the individual pineapple paste into 10g
  5. Once dough and jam are ready, start wrapping and preheat oven till 180c
  6. Apply egg wash evenly
  7. Bake for 15-20mins or till pastry looks golden brown
  8. Cool tarts before packing

Egg Wash

ingredients:

  • 1 egg + 1 egg yolk + a dash of milk

Directions:

  1. Mix the above items together

 

pineapple jamThe most tedious part of pineapple tarts making! i’m so lazy i just eye ball these. Given the amount that i’m doing, i bet i would smash the weighing scale if i have to weigh them individually.

stepsA really easy way to wrap these babies!~Just remember, when working with dough, less is more. Do not overwork your dough!

egg washi cannot emphasize how important it is to have a good egg wash. Do not attempt to do a sloppy job as it would reflect exactly on the baked goods!

GS9A3379After a nice glossy egg wash bath, we now have shiny pineapple balls waiting to go into the oven!

GS9A3400Now i hope you get the picture of what i mean by doing a proper egg wash. In another words, if you randomly brush your egg wash, you do not get uniformed glossy egg wash. i’m quite pleased with how all these looks like!

ready tartsThese are just 1/30 of my actual production! 😀

Cross seci love it when there’s equal portion of tarts and fillings! Yummylicious at its finest! Love how melt in the mouth this pineapple tart is!

i always believe homebaked goods are the best and i do hope some of you would try to make these. Feel free to drop me an email or leave a comment should you have any enquiry. Happy Baking

Now, back to editing more photos and stealing some sleep before i head back to the kitchen to complete a macaron order for a wedding reception later today!

 

 

70 thoughts on “Best Melt in the Mouth Pineapple Tarts

  1. Hi Mybakingcottage

    I think for the egg wash, it’s better to dilute the yolk with water rather than milk because with milk, the baked tarts turned out darker. This is evident from the picture of your Swan Choux Pastry, I can see your baked choux shells were dark, it could be attributed to the milk used instead of water in your choux mixture.

    Blessings
    Priscilla Poh

    • Hi Priscilla,

      I like the way my tarts look like.. That’s the kind of egg wash i prefer. You could definitely do with water if that’s your personal preference.

      As for the choux pastry, milk provides a form of flavors to me. I haven seen any recipe that uses all water and butter only. But this to me is what i prefer and how’s it’s done commercially at my workplace 🙂

      Thanks for the advise though. Have a pleasant weekend

      • mybakingcottage, oh, your pineapple balls certainly look great, no doubt!

        I got the idea of using water in place of milk when I used Table for 2 or more – Wendy given her valuable tips “How to make Choux Pastry – Random Sunday”

        She bakes very good choux pastry!

        Blessings
        Priscilla Poh

  2. Thanks for sharing ur recipe. I’ve also read some recipe using custard powder, any advise? IBtw, can advise why my pineapple jam has a bit of pepper taste. The pineapple jam, only cooked with sugar, 1/2 tsp of lemon juice, 3 pcs of star cloves. Can advise?

    • Hello.. Some ppl actually use custard powder in place of milk powder or totally omit it.. No issues from what i know. Eh, for the pineapple jam, i always do it with cinnamon stick, never tried them with star cloves though! I guess that’s the one contributing to the peppery flavor. Try with just cinnamon stick. Works really well for me.

  3. Hi. May I know if you use your hand or stand mixer to mix the dough? When I tried to use my hand to rub the butter and flour, there will be huge chunk of butters left and if I continue to rub, the butter will melt and the dough will stick together. Also can this pastry recipe be used for pineapple rolls?

    • Hello. Rubbing in is always by hand. You are suppose to rub in using ur fingers and not ur palm. The heat from ur palm will melt everything. The dough is only suppose to “stick” together after the addition of liquid. Else, they should resemble fine bread crumbs. Yup this recipe can be used for any closed type of pineapple tarts 🙂 hope that helps. Happy baking

  4. Hi…may I know what does it mean by a dash of milk?means what type of milk and how much I need to put?please reply thanks.

    • Hello, prob just a tbsp of milk will do. it’s just to loosen it a little for easy brushing. a little more or less won’t hurt. Normal fresh milk, or full cream milk will do.

  5. Hi there, just wondering how is this recipe compared to your new recipe? Btw, can I use the open-faced version for this recipe? I find this recipe requires less ingredients which works well for me.

    Thanks!

    Carolyn

  6. Hi,

    I would like to know how is this recipe compared to your new recipe? Can I use the open-faced for this recipe? This recipe is perfect with just few ingredients.

    Thanks!

    Carolyn

  7. Hi Charlynn,

    I have followed your recipe exactly last night. It turned out very well at first, but today when my hubby took a bite of the tart, it sort of crumbles totally without the sturdiness it had last night. I don’t think I can keep it till Chinese new Year. Can I know what could be the cause?
    Thank you.

    Regards
    Venez

  8. Hihi
    Is it possible to share ur last yr’s recipe with me via email? Seems like this recipe is a lot simplier. Whats the difference?

  9. I would like to ask how should I adjust my ingredient if I would only want to use 1 kg of pineapple and 500g of butter? As most of the shops usually sells the standard weight for this 2 items, I do not want to waste.

    Also may I know why do we need to chill dough? If I need to then how long should it be? Just to ask is it recommended to avoid this step?

    Do I need to grease the cupcake holder before placing the wrapped tart in?

    Should the end product be quite held up tgt or crumbles as u bite?

    Sorry for my many questions. Really interested to bake that’s why ask many question lol.

    • Hello..
      as much as i would like to help you, there’s really nth much i can do bout the proportions. Baking percentage are there for a reason.

      The only thing i can advise is for you to roll the pineapple paste into a smaller portion and adjust the recipe such that u use 500g of butter.. so u get more balls with lesser pineapple paste inside

      Chilling the dough makes it easier to work with.. you can chill for about 20-30 minutes.. you can avoid if u want.. for me i don’t chill cos i’m working in an air con environment.. so no issues… i left the note there for ppl who are working in a hot kitchen

      cupcake holder no need to grease.. you can also omit the holder.. not necessary if you don’t want to.

      the final product should look like what u see in my picture.. but when you bite, it should be melty

      Hope that helps

  10. Hello. May I know what kind of butter did you use for this recipe? The original Sonia’s recipe uses Buttercup brand, but that’s not real butter. I have tried this recipe using Buttercup, though very melty, it does not give the Wow fragrance. Any idea if I change to using say, Golden Churn butter, would it be still melty? Is it the butter or the condensed milk that gives the melty feel? Thanks in advance!

    • Hello.. I used golden churn.. Nv believe in using margarine for baking.. It still feels good to me.. But u could try another of my recipe.. The ingot looking one! That’s one great melty recipe!

  11. Hi! Been looking for pineapple tarts recipe for so long and so happy that I came across to your food blog. 🙂 those tiny but irresistible treats reminds me of my boss when I was 19..I used to help her making those tarts for Chinese New Year But I lost the recipe. What I can only remember is how make the pineapple paste with cinnamon stick. I try doing it back home but I never get the melt in the mouth pastry. It always comes out like biscuits..but I’m sure this time using your recipe I can make the same old good irresistible pineapple tarts I’ve been longing to tastes again after 16 years. Thanks a lot.

  12. Hi, i actually used your receipe to bake the open faced tarts (added a little more flour as the pastry keep sticking into the mold). It’s really nice and melt in the mouth but my colleagues say the fragrance of the butter is not strong enough. Should i add in more butter?

Leave a Reply

